Doctors Say: Allow vaccination of migrants in detention. Sign the Petition!

Dear fellow doctors, health care professionals, and health professions students: 

It’s flu season, and the federal government is refusing to vaccinate people in their detention centers. On November 5th, we wrote a letter requesting access to a Customs and Border Protection (CBP) camp to provide free influenza vaccination. The letter was addressed to the secretaries of the Department of Homeland Security and the Department of Health and Human Services.

They have so far ignored the letter.

We would bring the qualified, licensed physicians. We would bring the doses of flu vaccine, at no cost to the government. All they need to do is allow us entry.

Join us in calling on the federal government to allow us to bring flu vaccines to the people held in a migrant detention camp.

Three children in CBP custody died from influenza last season. This is 9 times higher than the expected death rate for this disease. Despite this, CBP has repeatedly stated they will not provide vaccinations. This is just one, small example of the well-documented medical neglect in these camps. 

These detention camps should not exist in the first place. While they remain, let’s hold our government accountable for their medical neglect. Join us as we stand for the basic dignity and safety of the vulnerable people in these camps. 

-- Marie, Bonnie, and Danielle


We, the undersigned medical doctors, health professionals, and health professions students, call on Chad Wolf, Acting Secretary of the Department of Homeland Security, and Alex Azar, Secretary of the Department of Health and Human Services, to allow Doctors for Camp Closure to offer influenza vaccine at a migrant detention center, in accordance with current, evidence-based standards of preventive health care.

Who's signing

Luisa Massari
Kristin Dascomb
Laura Czulada
Elizabeth Garbitelli
Lauren LaGrega
Helen Papaioannou
Omaima Degani
Sarah Hayden
Daniel Murimi-Worstell
Elizabeth Verna
Fiona Esfandiari
Keri Smith
Parul Gupta
Kerry Shea
Alexandra Fairchok
Lia Briggs
mary fairchok
Shannon Poupalos
Jennifer Varney
Tia Bingham
Emilio Hernandez
Kerry Zavalney
Nina Gilberg
Sharon Golden
zande mallicote
Jose Gutierrez
Elaine Pischke
Jessica Chapman
Radha Patel
3,000 signatures

Will you sign?

Showing 2590 reactions

  • Luisa Massari
    signed via 2019-12-12 21:43:02 -0500
  • Kristin Dascomb
    signed via 2019-12-12 21:42:39 -0500
  • Laura Czulada
    signed via 2019-12-12 21:41:06 -0500
  • Elizabeth Garbitelli
    signed via 2019-12-12 21:40:21 -0500
  • Lauren LaGrega
    signed via 2019-12-12 21:38:38 -0500
  • Helen Papaioannou
    signed via 2019-12-12 21:38:25 -0500
  • Omaima Degani
    signed via 2019-12-12 21:36:10 -0500
  • Sarah Hayden
    signed via 2019-12-12 21:34:55 -0500
  • Daniel Murimi-Worstell
    signed via 2019-12-12 21:34:41 -0500
  • Elizabeth Verna
    signed via 2019-12-12 21:34:20 -0500
  • Fiona Esfandiari
    signed via 2019-12-12 21:32:27 -0500
  • Keri Smith
    signed via 2019-12-12 21:32:21 -0500
  • Parul Gupta
    signed via 2019-12-12 21:32:06 -0500
  • Kerry Shea
    signed via 2019-12-12 21:32:01 -0500
  • Alexandra Fairchok
    signed via 2019-12-12 21:31:19 -0500
  • Lia Briggs
    signed via 2019-12-12 21:30:01 -0500
  • G K
    signed via 2019-12-12 21:29:24 -0500
  • mary fairchok
    signed via 2019-12-12 21:25:34 -0500
  • Shannon Poupalos
    signed 2019-12-12 21:22:14 -0500
  • Jennifer Varney
    signed 2019-12-12 21:21:29 -0500
  • Tia Bingham
    signed 2019-12-12 21:20:18 -0500
    Tia Catherine Bingham
  • Emilio Hernandez
    signed 2019-12-12 21:05:25 -0500
  • Kerry Zavalney
    signed via 2019-12-12 20:59:44 -0500
  • Nina Gilberg
    signed 2019-12-12 20:52:51 -0500
  • Sharon Golden
    signed 2019-12-12 20:37:02 -0500
  • zande mallicote
    signed 2019-12-12 20:04:40 -0500
    This administration will continue to attack the disenfranchised until we ALL stand up TOGETHER and say no more.
  • Jose Gutierrez
    signed 2019-12-12 19:44:23 -0500
  • Elaine Pischke
    signed 2019-12-12 19:40:14 -0500
  • Jessica Chapman
    signed 2019-12-12 19:28:54 -0500
    I’m proud of you for taking the time to care.
  • Radha Patel
    signed 2019-12-12 18:36:54 -0500